About Us

“The chambers exudes a warm and welcoming atmosphere without ever compromising on efficiency”

Chambers UK


Having been established in Gray’s Inn for over 50 years, 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square has recently undergone a comprehensive programme of restructuring and expansion to build upon its strong reputation as a leading commercial, public and planning law set. Currently headed by Timothy Straker QC and Satinder Hunjan QC, 4-5 continues to be at the forefront of legal services, both in the UK and worldwide. 

Steeped in legal history, 4-5 was founded around 100 years ago and was originally based at 3 Temple Gardens.

In the 1940s and 1950s its Heads of Chambers included Charles Erskine Simes KC (later Recorder of Banbury) and Charles Scholefield QC.  In 1966, headed by Sir Douglas Frank QC (later President of the Lands Tribunal), it became first set to move north to Gray’s Inn when it became known as Gray’s Inn Chambers.

In February 1986, Chambers moved to the current premises at 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square. The set was then headed by the commercial silk Richard Yorke QC, who established Chambers’ reputation in banking, commercial and regulatory law alongside its existing reputation in planning and property law. The senior clerk at the time was Leslie Page, who began his career in the 1950s. He had followed Robin Soule, who later became clerk to Sir Graham Eyre QC, Anthony Scrivener QC and many other notable barristers.

In the 1980s and 1990s, Chambers further developed its reputation as a pre-eminent public law set under the leadership of Elizabeth Appleby QC and Michael Beloff QC.

In response to the increasingly international nature of the legal world, 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square has more recently been joined by associate members who practice in numerous international jurisdictions and is well placed to provide services in international arbitration and offshore work

2017 saw the establishment of a 4-5’s mediation group comprised of experienced and specialist mediators.  

Chambers has always maintained powerful links with the academia through its Academic Panel, which currently includes Professor Sir G H Treitel QC and numbers amongst its former members Sir William Wade QC and Sir David Williams QC.

Former members of 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square include:

  • Lord Justice Schiemann (later Judge of the European Court of Justice)
  • Lord Justice Moses (later Chairman of the Independent Press Standards Organisation)
  • Lord Justice Keene
  • Lord Justice Sullivan
  • Lord Justice Singh
  • Lord Justice Bean
  • Mr Justice Collins
  • Mr Justice Ouseley
  • Mr Justice Lewis
  • Mr Justice Kerr
  • Sir Douglas Frank QC (President of the Lands Tribunal)
  • Charles Erskine Simes KC (Recorder of Banbury)
  • Charles Scholefield QC
  • Richard Yorke QC
  • Michael Beloff QC
  • Elizabeth Appleby QC
  • Cherie Booth QC
  • George Carman QC
  • Sir William Wade QC
  • Sir David Williams QC
  • Sir John Freeland QC
  • Lady Hazel Fox QC
  • Henry Darwin


Instruct Us

To register an interest in sending instructions to Chambers please Click Here
or call +44(0) 20 7404 5252